It’s no secret that many Texans are passionate about guns. In fact, they purchased 1,732,651 guns in 2022. But owning a gun, or any kind of firearm or weapon, comes with great responsibility. That means that gun owners or those planning to own a gun in Texas must follow federal and state gun laws or suffer the consequences. The laws provide clear distinctions between who is not allowed to possess or own firearms and who can lawfully own guns. Here’s what you need to know about gun laws in the Lone Star State.
What is The Age Requirement to Buy a Gun in Texas?
You must be 21 years old and above when buying a handgun or 18 years old and above when buying a long gun from a Federal Firearms Licensee (FFL) under federal law. The same rules apply to buying a long gun under Texas law. Texans, however, can buy handguns once they turn 18 but only through private sales. Additionally, parents or legal guardians can give guns as gifts to minors or give them written permission to purchase a gun.
Other Texas Gun Laws to Keep in Mind
- Texas is among the 26 states that allow permitless carry of handguns. This means that Texans who are 21 years old and above can carry a handgun, without a permit, provided that they don’t have a criminal record. You can carry your handgun concealed or openly in a holster.
- You can carry a handgun concealed or openly in public in businesses and state government buildings that don’t prohibit it.
- You do not need a license to carry long guns openly. Texas has also allowed carrying handguns openly with the proper permit since 2016.
- You must undergo a background check if you want to buy a gun from a licensed dealer unless you have a license to carry. A background check is not required when purchasing a gun through a private seller. You also don’t need a registration or permit to buy a gun. Additionally, there are restrictions to magazine capacity when purchasing firearms through private sales.
- Anyone under 18 years old cannot lawfully possess a handgun under federal law. However, there’s no minimum age requirement to possess guns in Texas. While minors found in possession of a firearm might not get in trouble, anyone that transfers or gives easy access to a readily dischargeable firearm to a minor can be held liable.
- You can carry a handgun in college dorms and campuses in Texas.
- You can use deadly force to defend yourself in your home, under the castle doctrine, and to defend yourself in public spaces, under the stand your ground law, as you’re not committing a crime.
Speak to Our Skilled San Antonio Criminal Defense Attorney Now
If you need more information on Texas gun laws, you can seek advice from the San Antonio criminal defense attorneys at Hoelscher Gebbia Cepeda PLLC. We can also help you with your criminal charges, restore an unlawfully revoked gun license, and reclaim an illegally confiscated firearm. Schedule your appointment with our San Antonio criminal defense attorney by calling our office at 210-222-9132 or filling out our online contact form.