In Texas, you may face a domestic violence charge if you allegedly committed a violent act against a member of your family or household or someone you are dating or have dated. Crimes involving domestic violence usually carry higher and more serve penalties and consequences than similar assault offenses involving non-family members.
Domestic Assault Penalties in TX
Domestic assault or violence can be a misdemeanor or felony, depending on the crime’s specific circumstances. Penalties can include:
- Misdemeanor Domestic Assault – This involves threats of physical harm or offensive or provocative contact and is a class C misdemeanor. Penalties include a fine of not more than $500. If the crime involved bodily injury, it is a class A misdemeanor, punishable by up to a $4,000 fine and a year in jail.
- Felony Domestic Assault – If the crime involved suffocation or strangulation or if you have any prior domestic violence convictions, you could be charged with a third-degree felony, punishable by a fine up to $10,000 and prison time of two to 10 years.
Aggravated Domestic Assault Penalties in TX
An aggravated domestic assault charge can be a second-degree or third-degree felony and carry the following penalties:
- First-Degree Felony – You could face up to a $10,000 fine and five, 99 years, or life in prison if your actions resulted in serious bodily injury and involved a deadly weapon.
- Second-Degree Felony – Any other charge of aggravated assault. You could face up to a $10,000 fine and imprisonment of two to 20 years.
Continuous Violence Against The Family Penalties in TX
You can be convicted of continuous violence against the family, a third-degree felony, if you have two or more domestic assault convictions or arrests within 12 months. This is punishable by a $10,000 fine and two to 10 years of prison time.
Additional Consequences for Domestic Violence Crimes in TX
On top of the potential costly fines and lengthy prison sentences, you may face the following restrictions and conditions if you get arrested or convicted of domestic violence in Texas:
- A conviction for domestic violence becomes a permanent part of your criminal record.
- The loss or suspension of your occupational license.
- Losing your right to possess a firearm, maybe
- You may be arrested without a warrant if a police officer has probable cause to suspect that you committed a domestic violence crime.
- If you violate a bond condition after getting arrested for domestic violence, the judge may revoke bail. This means that you may have to wait in jail until a plea, trial, or dismissal of the charges against you.
Speak to a Top San Antonio, TX, Criminal Defense Attorney Now
If you have been accused of domestic violence in Texas and need legal help fighting those charges, contact Hoelscher Gebbia Cepeda PLLC as soon as possible. Our San Antonio criminal defense attorneys have extensive experience serving wrongfully charged people navigate the confusing and scary criminal justice system.
To learn more about the best legal options specific to your situation, dial 210-222-9132 or reach us online to schedule a case review with our San Antonio criminal defense attorney today.